Home of the Melbourne Cup since 1861, Flemington is a National Heritage listed site, and boasts the largest public rose garden in the Southern Hemisphere. The Flemington Heritage Centre is a multimedia experience including artefacts from the Club’s archival collection that brings to life the history, drama, fashion and excitement of racing at Flemington. Explore the Black Caviar display and relive the excitement of Australia’s greatest horse.The site’s history stretches back to 1836, when the explorer Major Thomas Mitchell crossed the river here on his 900 kilometre journey from Sydney to Port Phillip. A site for a township was surveyed which was to have been called Mitchellstown. Ross Shelmerdine called his fledgling winery Mitchelton, a derivation of Mitchellstown and the vineyard’s first sod was turned in 1969. Don Lewis joined former Seppelts winemaker Colin Preece for the fledgling winery’s first vintage in 1973, and assumed the winemaker’s mantle when Preece retired in 1974.